HNGi8 Beginnings

Hello, welcome to my blog.

My name is Dipo and I am a new intern at HNG internship cohort 8, HNGi8.

I have some prior experience with HNG, I was at i7 and it was explosive. So much chaos and I was too weak-willed to progress far, only got as far as stage 2. Before HNGi7, I once joined one other cohort, but that one, I didn't even progress anywhere and abandoned it later.

For HNGi8, I hope it will be a different story. This time, I'm planning to go as far as I can and gain as much fertilizer for my growth as I can gain. My goals for this internship in the next 8 weeks are

  • Progressing to Stage 5 at least. Finishing all the stages if I can
  • Gaining some valuable backend dev experience. Now I have more of an idea of what a backend dev is, and I'm hoping the projects we work on in this internship will give me an opportunity to grow as much as possible.
  • I want to learn about deploying apps to production and maintaining production apps. Some CI/CD.
  • I hope to be completely employable as a backend dev. Mans is in need of a job, sapa dey.

I can be found on the HNGi8 workspace with username Slack@Dipo-Jaiye. That's a unique name if I do say so myself.

I am super grateful for the opportunity to be part of this internship. When one thinks about how HNG and Zuri run these completely free!! trainings for tons of people, it's mindblowing and I hope I get to pay it forward eventually too. You can sign up for upcoming trainings or just get more information at zuri.team

Here are some tutorial links as well to start learning new skills
Design (Figma)
Figma site

Git (an absolute necessity for a dev)
GitHub Guides

HTML (because you can never go wrong with some structure)
Codecademy

JavaScript (because I am primarily a Node dev, haha)
freeCodeCamp

Thank you for reading, best of luck!
Cheers,
Dipo Jaiye